Track By Track: ‘Step’ by Vampire Weekend

Standard

I think whether or not you like a band or their music is not always quite straightforward. Take Vampire Weekend. I remember hearing their early stuff on the radio and thinking ‘Oh, this sounds fun!’, but then when I checked out their album it was just a little much for me. A little manic and chaotic to my ears. So I discovered I like them in short sharp bursts, but not so much an hour’s worth. Strange, but sobeit.

I guess that’s why their last album Modern Vampires of the City is my favourite of their three albums. It’s a little less manic and easier on my ears, a little cleaner, which oddly I usually consider to be a bad thing.

And my favourite song on that album (and by the band full stop) is this one. There’s something perfect about it that I just find incredibly relaxing. It does not even matter that to me the lyrics make no sense… at all. It is one of those rare songs that I can hear on loop for an hour and still not be bored by it. The music, the voice, the quirky lyrics… Just perfect!

Leave a Reply

