Track by Track: ‘Do The Damage’ by Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

Standard

Noel Gallagher. Well, you either love him or hate him. I love him and I don’t care what anyone else says. People always moan about him talking rubbish and upsetting other people, but who cares. Without people like him, the music business would be bloody boring. I don’t always agree with him. Heck, I think he sometimes does not even agree with himself. He knows he is going to get a reaction and it appears to amuse him no end. I don’t blame him for giving a poke here and there to await the snowball grow. What a strange world is it, when you say something perfectly ordinary and it gets ripped apart. Well, I am glad he is out there talking crap. He knows the deal and he does not care much about the deal, but knows how to play it. And boy has he played it well in his time.

After the first couple of Oasis albums, Oasis did nothing for me I have to say. But his two High Flying Birds albums have been a staple in our house. Songs like If I Had A Gun, AKA… What A Life and The Ballad of the Mighty I are definitely favourites, but I actually want to highlight a different track.

Do The Damage is a bonus track on ‘Chasing Yesterday’  and was the B-side to The Heat Of The Moment and actually one of my favourites (certainly better than the A-side), with its chugging rhythm and a bit of a dirty groove. I love how the saxophone works so well in the song to add a little something interesting.

Noel himself has referenced the song to early Oasis work like Bring It On Down and Headshrinker. No wonder I like it, that was the period I actually loved Oasis!

Anyway, I will add the video, even though it’s terrible! Just close your eyes and just listen to the tune!

Leave a Reply

